Quick Eats

With two jobs and a whole lot of last-semester-of-college life happening, I am lucky if I have time to throw together a quick meal at home a couple times a week. Here is how I have been eating recently. Besides being the best thing you can do to cut down your carbon footprint, not eating meat makes cooking and cleaning up simpler! No meat to thaw, no b’nasty bacon grease, etc! Here we go…

UDS Roasted Vegetable Salad

University Dining Services caught me by surprise with this one! Corn, asparagus, eggplant, sun-dried tomato, squash, and romaine. I shall have to try a recreation!

Baked Sweet Potato and Salsa Roasted Kale

This kale has a kick!

First I diced onions and garlic and de-ribbed and chopped up my kale leaves. I don’t really measure, so just wing it.

 Next, I fried the garlic and onions in olive oil for a few minutes before adding the kale. I sprinkled in a wee bit of ground ginger and added water to help with kale steam-age. Finally, I added some salsa and sauteed until the kale leaves were soft and bright green.

You know how to make a baked potato, right? Well, that’s what I did. After it was all done, I topped with butter, cinnamon, and a hint of brown sugar. And here is my dinner creation all finished!

I used salsa with black beans and corn. Bonus protein!

Last of the Summer Quinoa Salads

A favorite of mine this past summer was a quinoa salad with fresh tomatoes, corn, and avocado. Local tomatoes are still available, but corn is on its way out, sadly. Here’s how its done:

Make a heaping pot o quinoa.

Chop tomatoes and slice avocado.

Add cooked sweet corn, tomato and avocado chunks, a dash of salt, and black pepper and thyme to taste. Light and refreshing. I considered adding black beans to mine, but there’s so much protein already with the quinoa that I left them out.

These are the pictures that happen when you're rocking a 3.2 megapixel camera.

Leave a Reply

