Fall Bounty from the Minneapolis Farmers Market

How had I never been to the Minneapolis Farmers Market before this fall? I frequented the Stevens Square Farmers Market when I lived near Franklin, and have been going to the Uptown Market for two summers, but I somehow never made the trek out to the big one until this year. Let me tell you, it is amazing! It reminds me of my beloved Olympia Farmers Market, which was open through December and spoiled me with the bounty of produce that comes with living in a temperate climate. It may not be possible to get local Pink Lady apples or avocados grown in a neighboring state here in Minneapolis, but we do pretty well here at our lil midwest market (and by “lil” I mean HUGE). Although the regular market season is wrapping up, the Winter Market is just beginning! I had no idea until recently that some vendors continue to sell on Saturdays throughout December.

The Winter Market begins this Saturday, November 19th, and continues each Saturday through December 31st, minus the 24th from 9:30-12:00 at 312 East Lyndale Ave North.

Until then, here are some of my favorites from late summer and early fall.

The last sweet corn of the season, with lemon pepper and freshly-squeezed lemonade.

Tofurky sandwich with market tomatoes and spinach.

Grape nuts and soy milk with raspberries and black berries from el mercado!

I drank this so fast. Fresh cider is liquefied October in a bottle.

Leave a Reply

