Apple Pie Oatmeal

Oatmeal is a comforting fall/winter food, but can undoubtedly get a little boring. I have gone through many canisters of Aldi quick oats in my day (because, as my dad would say, I am po’), so by now I am at a point where I need to jazz it up a bit. I decided to make some fried apples based off of a recipe in my very first vegetarian cookbook, Student’s Vegetarian Cookbook by Carole Ramond, and add them to my cereal for a delightful fall treat.

Ingredients:

  • 1 apple
  • 1/2 teaspoon maple syrup
  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1 cup water
  • ground cinnamon
  • chopped pecans or walnuts
  • Earth Balance or your preferred buttery substance

Directions:

1. Cut the apple into thin slices.
2. In a pot, combine apples with the syrup, butter, and cinnamon. I used a heaping amount of cinnamon and about a teaspoon of butter, but you can eyeball it to your preferences. Cover the pot and heat on low for 10 minutes.
3. While the apples are simmering, boil a cup of water with a pinch of salt.
4. Add the oats to the boiling water, turn heat down, and simmer for 5 minutes, stirring occasionally.
5. When the oatmeal is done, add cinnamon or brown sugar if you desire, and top with the apple slices and chopped nuts.
Leave a Reply

