Thai-inspired Veggie Stir-fry

For this recipe, I used Amy’s peanut sauce recipe, substituting soy milk for coconut milk, because I was out (it turned out just fine). For the rest of the dish, I didn’t keep track of measurements. I made about a cup of brown rice (for leftoevers) and chopped up enough veggies and tofu for about 2 servings. This is a really flexible meal. Use whatever veggies you have on hand. I like to make sure I get some red pepper, carrot, and broccoli each time, but feel free to experiment.

Ingredients

Sauce:

¼ cup peanut butter

2 teaspoons soy sauce

1 tbsp brown sugar

1 tbsp lemon or lime juice

¼ cup water

¼ cup coconut milk

Stir-fry:

Olive oil

Red pepper flakes

Brown rice

About ½ block of tofu, pressed and cubed

Snap peas

Red pepper, cut into strips

Broccoli florets

Carrots, cut into shorter strips

Directions

Get a pot of brown rice cooking while you are chopping veggies and preparing the sauce.

Whisk sauce ingredients together in a bowl, adding water last. Add more water and/or milk if mixture is too thick (if it’s a bit runny, that should be fine. It will thicken when you stir-fry it). Heat sauce over medium heat until it starts to bubble and thicken a bit.

Add oil to a pan and begin sauteeing tofu cubes for a couple of minutes until they begin to lightly brown. I like to do this first in a separate pan from the veggies, because I’m bad at cooking tofu and I like to give it a lil’ extra attention before I add it to the veggies.

Add olive oil to a larger pan/pot and begin sauteeing veggies for a few minutes. Once veggies begin to soften, add the tofu and peanut sauce and stir until heated through. Serve on top of a mound of brown rice!

I added some sauce while cooking my tofu, because it kept sticking to the pan.

All together now!

Leave a Reply

